Sweden win bronze after defeating co-host Australia in the World Cup

Embed from Getty Images

Following devastating heartbreaks in their semifinal games, both Sweden and Australia faced each other in the third-place game in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. 

Spain defeated Sweden 2-1 in the semifinals, marking Sweden’s fourth loss in a World Cup semifinal match in their history. Australia’s record-breaking run was brought to an end by reigning European champions England after a 3-1 defeat in the semifinals.

Both teams unable to reach the final had to settle for a third-place game, and Sweden came out on top after defeating co-host Australia 2-0 to emerge third-place winners in the World Cup for the fourth time.

Sweden took the lead going into halftime courtesy of a goal from Fridolina Rolfo. The Swede, who plays for FC Barcelona Femeni, converted a penalty in the 30th minute of the game following a VAR intervention that confirmed that an Australian player had tripped Stina Blacksteinus in the box. In the 62nd minute, Sweden’s captain, Kosovare Asllani, scored her first goal of the tournament and secured the bronze medal for Sweden with a beautiful finish following an assist from Stina Blacksteinus.

Fridolina Rolfo had a remarkable end to her World Cup outing as she was given the Player of the Match award for her performance against Australia.

Embed from Getty Images

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will come to an end tomorrow when Spain faces England to decide who will be crowned world champions.

One comment

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I
    care for such info much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *